State Poet Laureate 

In 1963, Mississippi established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Catherine Pierce, who was appointed to a four-year term in 2021. Pierce is the author of four books of poetry, including The Girls of Peculiar (Saturnalia, 2012), which won the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters Poetry Prize.