In 2023, Nandi Comer was appointed state poet laureate. Comer will serve as Michigan's first poet laureate since the 1950s. 

City and County Poets Laureate

Grand Rapids

In 2020, Ericka 'Kyd Kane' Thompson was named poet laureate of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Thompson will serve a three-year term.


In 2022, Masaki Takahashi was named poet laureate of Lansing, Michigan. Takahashi will serve a two-year term.

Upper Peninsula

In 2023, Beverly Matherne was appointed poet laureate of the Upper Peninsula. She will serve a one-year term.