State Poet Laureate

In 1959, Maryland established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Grace Cavalieri, appointed in 2018, who will serve a four-year term. Cavalieri is the author of several poetry collections, including Other Voices, Other Lives (Alan Squire Publishing, 2017).

City and County Poets Laureate 


In 2019, Francis Smith became the poet laureate of Emmitsburg, Maryland. Smith will serve a two-year term.


In 2019, Nancy Mitchell was appointed poet laureate of Salisbury, Maryland. 

Takoma Park 

In 2022, Taylor Johnson was appointed poet laureate of Takoma Park. Johnson will serve a three-year term.