State Poet Laureate

On November 2020, Angela Jackson was named Poet Laureate of Illinois. Jackson is the state’s fifth poet laureate, following Howard Austin, Carl Sandburg, Gwendolyn Brooks, Kevin Stein, and honorary Poet Laureate John Prine. 

City and County Poets Laureate 

Chicago, Illinois 

In 2023, avery r. young was appointed the inaugural poet laureate of Chicago. 

Elgin, Illinois

In 2024, Aron Ryan was appointed poet laureate through 2025.

Urbana, Illinois

In 2024, Ruby Mendenhall was appointed poet laureate of Urbana. Mendenhall will serve a one year term.