New York

State Poet Laureate

In 1985, New York established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Patricia Spears Jones, who was appointed to a two-year term in 2023. Spears Jones is the author of five collections of poetry, including The Beloved Community (Copper Canyon Press, 2023). She has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the Jackson Poetry Prize, fellowships and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, and the New York Foundation for the Arts. 

City and County Poets Laureate


In 2016, Rebecca Black was appointed the poet laureate of Albany, New York. Black is the author of Cottonlandia (University of Massachusetts Press, 2005), winner of the Juniper Prize for Poetry.


In 2010, Tina Chang became the poet laureate of Brooklyn, New York.


Haydil Henriquez is the poet laureate of the Bronx. 


In 2021, Jillian Hanesworth was named the first poet laureate of Buffalo. 


In 2023, Jean Prokott was appointed poet laureate of Rochester. 

Saratoga Springs 

In 2022, Joseph Bruchac was appointed the first poet laureate of Saratoga Springs. 


Maria Lisella is the outgoing poet laureate of Queens, New York.

Westchester County

B.K. Fischer is Westchester County's first poet laureate; a position created in 2021.


In 2022, Golda Solomon was named the first poet laureate of Yonkers.