State Poet Laureate

In 1993, Texas established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Amanda Johnson.

City and County Poets Laureate

Corpus Christi

In 2021, Thomas Murphy was appointed the 2021-2022 poet laureate of Corpus Christi, Texas. 


In 2022, Joaquín Zihuatanejo was named the inaugural poet laureate of Dallas. 


In 2023, Aris Kian Brown was appointed poet laureate of Houston, Texas. Schwartz will serve a two-year term.


In 2023, Daniel García Ordaz was appointed as the poet laureate of McAllen, Texas. Ordaz will serve a one-year term.