State Poet Laureate

In 1999, Tennessee established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Margaret Britton Vaughn. Vaughn is the author of several poetry collections, including Acres That Grow Stones (Iris Press, 1996).

City and County Poets Laureate 


In 2021, Henry L. Jones became the inaugural poet laureate of Hendersonville, Tennessee. Jones will serve an open-ended term.


In 2020, Rhea Carmon was appointed the poet laureate of Knoxville, Tennessee. Carmon will serve a two-year term.


In 2023, Mike James was appointed the poet laureate of Murfreesboro, Tennessee. James will serve a one-year term.

Oak Ridge 

In 2022, Erin Elizabeth Smith was named the inaugural poet laureate of Oak Ridge. Smith will serve a two-year term.