South Carolina

State Poet Laureate

In 1934, South Carolina established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Marjory Heath Wentworth. Wentworth is the author of four books of poetry, including her New and Selected Poems (University of South Carolina Press, 2014).

City and County Poets Laureate


In 2016, Marcus Amaker was named the first poet laureate of Charleston, South Carolina.


In 2015, Ed Madden was appointed poet laureate of Columbia, South Carolina. He will serve an eight-year term.

Rock Hill 

Angelo Geter is the poet laureate of Rock Hill, South Carolina.