State Poet Laureate

In 2000, Wisconsin established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Nicholas Gulig, who was appointed through December, 2024. 

City and County Poets Laureate 



In 2022, Mario Willis was named the poet laureate of Milwaukee. 


Angela Trudell Vasquez was named poet laureate of Madison, Wisconsin, in 2020. Vasquez will serve a two-year term.


Lucy Tyrrell was appointed the poet laureate of Bayfield, Wisconsin, in 2020. Paap will serve a one-year term.


In 2021, Dawn Anderson was appointed the inaugural poet laureate Wausau, Wisconsin. She will serve a two-year term. 

Kenosha and Racine

In 2023, the Kenosha/Racine Poets Laureate Program appointed Christopher Kolon as the Kenosha poet laureate and Elizabeth Harmatys Park as the Racine poet laureate. Each will serve a two-year term.