State Poet Laureate 

In 1928, Florida established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Peter Meinke, who was appointed to a four-year term in 2015. Meinke is the author of over twenty books of poetry, including Lucky Bones (Pitt Poetry Series, 2014). 

City and County Poets Laureate 


In 2019, Amanda Butler became the poet laureate of Oldsmar, Florida. Butler will serve a two-year term.


In 2021, Shawn S. Welcome was appointed as the poet laureate of Orlando, Florida. He will serve a three-year term. 

St. Petersburg

In 2022, Gloria Muñoz was appointed poet laureate of St. Petersburg. 

St. Augustine

In 2022, Norma Sherry was appointed the inaugural poet laureate of St. Augustine.