State Poet Laureate

In 1963, Virginia established a state poet laureate position, which is currently held by Margaret O. Daramola, who was appointed to a two-year term in 2023. Daramola is the author of A Pathway Through Survival (2021). 


In 2022, Zeina Azzam became the poet laureate of Alexandria, Virginia. 

Arlington County

In 2020, Holly Karapetkova was appointed poet laureate of Arlington County. 

Fairfax County

In 2022, Danielle Badra was appointed poet laureate of Fairfax County through 2024.