Distinguished poets Dorianne Laux and Kevin Young have been elected to the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors, a distinction shared by just 115 poets since the board was formed in 1946. 

As Chancellors, Laux and Young will consult with the organization on matters of artistic programming, serve as judges for the organization’s largest legacy prizes for poets, and act as ambassadors of poetry in the world at large. The new Chancellors were selected by the current members—Elizabeth AlexanderEllen BassMarilyn ChinKwame DawesForrest GanderLinda GregersonTerrance HayesBrenda HillmanMarie Howe, Alicia OstrikerDavid St. John, and Natasha Trethewey—and will be filling the seats vacated by Khaled Mattawa and Alberto Ríos, whose six-year terms have concluded. 

"We're honored to have Dorianne and Kevin as new Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets. Their participation, along with that of the other esteemed poets currently serving as Chancellors, ensures that poets remain at the heart of all we publish, program, and promote,” said Jennifer Benka, Academy executive director. 

Read the full press release.