New York, NY (January 24, 2023)—The Academy of American Poets is honored to announce that Kimiko Hahn, Ilya Kaminsky, Ed Roberson, and Patricia Smith have been elected to its fifteen-member Board of Chancellors

These four new Chancellors were selected by current Chancellors Marilyn Chin, Kwame Dawes, Natalie Diaz, Nikky Finney, Carolyn Forché, Joy Harjo, Marie Howe, Dorianne Laux, Tracy K. Smith, Natasha Trethewey, and Kevin Young, as well as Ellen Bass, Forrest Gander, Terrance Hayes, and David St. John, whose terms have since concluded. 

Chancellors serve six-year terms during which they consult with the organization on artistic matters, judge the organization’s largest legacy prizes for American poets, and act as ambassadors of poetry in the world at large. 

Read the full press release.