Chancellor Conversations: Poetry & Labor

Join Academy Chancellors Brenda HillmanMarie HoweDorianne Laux, and Natasha Trethewey for a virtual conversation on the poet's labor and how poetry envisions itself as a piece of work.

This event is free to attend with registration. Closed captioning will be provided.

Programs presented by the Academy of American Poets are made possible in part by the generous support of poetry readers across the country and throughout the world. To help the Academy continue to publish poems and promote the work of poets, donate today.

Brenda Hillman has authored several full-length collections, the most recent of which is Extra Hidden Life, among the Days (Wesleyan University Press, 2018). Hillman is also the coeditor, along with Patricia Dienstfrey, of The Grand Permisson: New Writings on Poetics and Motherhood (Wesleyan University Press, 2003). She holds the Olivia Filippi Chair in Poetry at St. Mary's College in Moraga, California, and lives in the Bay Area.

Marie Howe is the author of Magdalene (W. W. Norton, 2017), which was long-listed for the National Book Award; The Kingdom of Ordinary Time (W. W. Norton, 2009), which was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize; What the Living Do (W. W. Norton, 1998); and The Good Thief (Persea Books, 1988), which was selected by Margaret Atwood for the 1987 National Poetry Series.

Dorianne Laux's recent poetry collections includeOnly as the Day Is Long: New and Selected Poems (W. W. Norton, 2019), finalist for the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry; The Book of Women (Red Dragonfly Press, 2012); The Book of Men (W.W. Norton, 2011), which won The Paterson Prize and The Roanoke-Chowan Award. She teaches in the MFA program at North Carolina State University.

Natasha Trethewey's first collection of poetry, Domestic Work (Graywolf Press, 2000), won the inaugural Cave Canem Poetry Prize. Her most recent collection is Monument: Poems New and Selected (Hougton Mifflin, 2018), which was longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award in Poetry. In 2012, Trethewey was named as both the state poet laureate of Mississippi and the 19th U.S. poet laureate by the Library of Congress.