Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Patrick Phillips

Patrick Phillips was born in 1970 in Atlanta and raised in the Appalachian foothills of north Georgia. He attended Tufts University, and earned an MFA in Poetry at the University of Maryland, as well as a PhD in English Literature at New York University.

He is the author of three collections of poetry: Elegy for a Broken Machine (Knopf, 2015), Boy (University of Georgia Press, 2008), and Chattahoochee (University of Arkansas Press, 2004).

Phillips was a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Copenhagen's Centre for Translation Studies, where he began translating When We Leave Each Other: Selected Poems of Henrik Nordbrandt (Open Letter, 2013), which won the Translation Prize of the American Scandinavian Foundation.

His other honors include the Kate Tufts Discovery Award from Claremont Graduate University, a Discovery/The Nation Prize from the 92nd Street Y, a Pushcart Prize, the Lyric Poetry Award from the Poetry Society of America, and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

He currently teaches at Drew University and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Elegy for a Broken Machine (Knopf, 2015)
Boy (University of Georgia Press, 2008)
Chattahoochee (University of Arkansas Press, 2004).


Related Poets