Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Oliver de la Paz

Oliver de la Paz is the author of five collections of poetry, including The Boy in the Labyrinth (University of Akron Press, 2019), and Requiem for the Orchard (University of Akron Press 2010), winner of the Akron Prize for poetry chosen by Martìn Espada.

Of his work, Rodney Jones writes, "Oliver de la Paz has the strength and wisdom to step lightly with the heaviest burdens. He is stunningly good."

de la Paz is the recipient of a NYFA Fellowship Award and a GAP Grant from Artist Trust. A founding member of Kundiman, he teaches at the College of the Holy Cross and in the Low-Residency MFA program at Pacific Lutheran University, and was the Guest Editor for Poem-a-Day in October 2019. He lives near Worcester, Massachusetts.



The Boy in the Labyrinth (University of Akron Press, 2019)
Post Subject: A Fable (University of Akron Press, 2014)
Requiem for the Orchard (University of Akron Press, 2010)
Furious Lullaby (Southern Illinois University Press, 2007)
Names Above Houses (Southern Illinois University Press, 2001)

Oliver de la Paz