Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Margaret Gibson

Poet Laureate of Connecticut 2020

Margaret Gibson was born in Richmond, Virginia. She received a BA from Hollins College and an MFA from the University of Virginia. She is the author of several collections of poetry, including Not Hearing the Wood Thrush (LSU Press, 2018); Broken Cup (LSU Press, 2014), a finalist for the 2016 Poets' Prize; The Vigil: A Poem in Four Voices (LSU Press, 1993), a finalist for the National Book Award; and Long Walks in the Afternoon (LSU Press, 1982), a Lamont Poetry Selection. The recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship and a Pushcart Prize, Gibson was named the poet laureate of Connecticut in 2019. She is Professor Emerita at the University of Connecticut, and lives in Preston, Connecticut.

Read about Margaret Gibson’s 2020 Poets Laureate Fellowship project.

Margaret Gibson, photo credit Ted Hendrickson
Photo credit Ted Hendrickson
Poet Laureate Project
Laureate Project
Poet Laureate of Connecticut

Poet Laureate of Connecticut

In 2020, Margaret Gibson was named an Academy of American Poets Laureate Fellow.