James Applewhite

1935 –

James Applewhite is the author of many poetry collections, most recently Time Beginnings (Louisiana State University Press, 2017). His other collections include Cosmos: A Poem (Louisiana State University Press, 2014), Selected Poems (Duke University Press, 2005), Daytime and Starlight (Louisiana State University Press, 1997), and River Writing: An Eno Journal (Princeton University Press, 1988). He is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship for poetry and the Jean Stein Award in Poetry from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He is a Professor Emeritus in creative writing at Duke University.