Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Eliot Weinberger


On February 6, 1949, Eliot Weinberger was born in New York City, where he still lives.

He is the primary translator of Octavio Paz into English. His anthology American Poetry Since 1950: Innovators and Outsiders (1993) was a bestseller in Mexico, and his edition of Jorge Luis Borges's Selected Non-Fictions (1999) received the National Book Critics Circle prize for criticism. In 1992, he was given PEN's first Gregory Kolovakos Award for his work in promoting Hispanic literature in the United States, and in 2000 he was the first American literary writer to be awarded the Order of the Aztec Eagle by the government of Mexico.

Eliot Weinberger's publications include the collection of essays Karmic Traces: 1993-1999 and a translation of Bei Dao's Unlock (with Iona Man-Cheong), both published by New Directions in 2000. He is the editor of The New Directions Anthology of Classical Chinese Poetry (2003).A Selected Bibliography


American Poetry Since 1950: Innovators and Outsiders (1993)


Karmic Traces, 1993-1999 (2000)
Outside Stories, 1987-1991 (1992)
Works on Paper, 1980-1986 (1986)
Written Reaction: Poetics, Politics, Polemics, 1979-1995 (1996)


An Erotic Beyond: Sade (1998)
Nineteen Ways of Looking at Wang Wei: How a Chinese Poem is Translated (1987)
Selected Non-Fictions (1999)
Seven Nights (1984)

Poetry in Translation

A Draft of Shadows, and Other Poems (1979)
A Tale of Two Gardens: Poems from India 1952-1995 (1997)
A Tree Within (1988)
Altazor, or, A Voyage in a Parachute (1988)
Eagle or Sun? (1976)
Exaltation of Light (1981)
In Light of India (1997)
Nostalgia for Death and Hieroglyphs of Desire (1992)
Sunstone (1991)
The Collected Poems of Octavio Paz, 1957-1987 (1987)
Unlock (2000)
Unravelling Words and the Weaving of Water (1992)

By This Poet


Related Poets