Book Release Party for Larissa Shmailo's SLY BANG

Come to the book release party for Larissa Shmailo's new novel, with poetry, SLY BANG, featuring Annie Finch, Trace Peterson, Thaddeus Rutkowski, Marc Vincenz, Jeff Wright and MC Ron Kolm. Videography by Mitch Corber for Poetry Thin Air.

Larissa Shmailo is a poet, novelist, translator, editor, curator, and critic. Her new novel is Sly Bang; her first novel is Patient Women. Her poetry collections are Medusa’s Country, #specialcharacters, In Paran, A Cure for Suicide, and Fib Sequence. Her poetry albums are The No-Net World and Exorcism, for which she won the New Century Best Spoken Word Album award. Shmailo is the original English-language translator of the first Futurist opera Victory over the Sun by Alexei Kruchenych, performed at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Brooklyn Academy of Music, and theaters and universities worldwide. Shmailo also edited the online anthology Twenty-first Century Russian Poetry.

Annie Finch’s most recent books are Spells: New and Selected Poems (Wesleyan) and Measure for Measure (Random House/Everymans). Her poetry has been performed at Carnegie Hall and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, installed in the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, and published in Poetry, Paris Review, The New York Times, and The Penguin Book of Twentieth-Century American Poetry. A graduate of Yale with a Ph.D. from Stanford, she teaches Five Directions Workshops and performs Poetry Witch Ritual Theater. Forthcoming in 2019 are The Poetry Witch Book of Spells (Wesleyan) and the anthology Choice Words: Writers on Abortion (Haymarket). 
Ron Kolm is an editor of the 6th Unbearables anthology, From Somewhere To Nowhere: The End of the American Dream. He is a contributing editor of Sensitive Skin magazine. Ron is the author of Divine Comedy, Suburban Ambush, Night Shift and A Change in the Weather. He's had work in Flapperhouse, Great Weather for Media, the Resist Much / Obey Little: Inaugural Poems to the Resistance anthology, Maintenant, Live Mag!, Local Knowledge, The Opiate and the Outlaw Bible of American Poetry. Ron’s papers were purchased by the New York University library, where they’ve been catalogued in the Fales Collection.
Trace Peterson is a trans woman poet critic. Author of Since I Moved In (Chax Press, 2007), she is also founding editor and publisher of EOAGH, which has won two Lambda Literary Awards, including the first given in transgender poetry. She is coeditor of the anthology Troubling the Line: Trans and Genderqueer Poetry and Poetics (Nightboat Books, 2013) and coeditor of Arrive on Wave: Collected Poems of Gil Ott (Chax Press, 2016). Her second full-length book of poems is forthcoming from Ahsahta Press in 2020.
Thaddeus Rutkowski is the author of six books, most recently Border Crossings, a poetry collection. His novel Haywire won the Asian American Writers Workshop’s members’ choice award, and his memoir Guess and Check won the Electronic Literature bronze award for multicultural fiction. He teaches at Medgar Evers College, Sarah Lawrence College, and the West Side YMCA, and is a staff copy editor for Artforum magazine. He received a fiction writing fellowship from the New York Foundation for the Arts.
Marc Vincenz’s tenth collection of poetry is Leaning into the Infinite. He has translated many Romanian-, French- and German-language poets, including Herman Hesse Prize winner, Klaus Merz. He is Executive Editor of MadHat Press and serves on the editorial boards of Plume and Fulcrum.
Jeffrey Cyphers Wright is a publisher, critic, eco-activist, artist, impresario, and poet. He is the author of 16 books of verse, including Blue Lyre from Dos Madres Press, and Fake Lies from Fell Swoop. He received an MFA in Poetry from Brooklyn College after studying with Allen Ginsberg. Currently, Wright stages events at KGB Lit Bar, Howl! Happening, and La MaMa ETC in NYC, in conjunction with his art and poetry journal, Live Mag! He is a regular contributor to American Book Review and ArtNexus. He is a Kathy Acker Award recipient and Pushcart Prize nominee for 2018.

learn more