Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Roger Greenwald

Roger Greenwald earned a BA from The City College of New York and attended the Poetry Project workshop at St. Mark’s Church In-the-Bowery. He then earned an MA and PhD at  the University of Toronto.

Greenwald is the author of two books of poems: Slow Mountain Train (Tiger Bark Press, 2015) and Connecting Flight (Williams-Wallace, 1993). Greenwald has translated numerous books of poetry, most recently Guarding the Air: Selected Poems of Gunnar Harding (Black Widow Press, 2014), which received the 2015 Harold Morton Landon Translation Award from the Academy of American Poets, and Meditations on Georges de La Tour by Paal-Helge Haugen (BookThug, 2013).

Judge Bill Johnston said of Greenwald’s winning translation, Guarding the Air: Selected Poems of Gunnar Harding (Black Widow Press, 2014): “Roger Greenwald’s rendering of the selected poems of Swedish poet Gunnar Harding, is an accomplishment to be relished by any reader, and envied by any literary translator. Greenwald’s translations are superb. They read like what they are—magnificent poems in the English language. The freshness of imagery and turn of phrase are never accompanied by the awkwardness that so often marks poetry in translation—rather, they arise from the originality of the poet’s voice, which Greenwald has brilliantly captured in English.”

Greenwald has also translated two novels from the Swedish. His honors include Canadian Broadcasting Corporation Literary Awards for poetry and travel literature, and two National Endowment for the Arts Translation Fellowships. He lives in Toronto.



Slow Mountain Train (Tiger Bark Press, 2015)
Connecting Flight (Williams-Wallace, 1993)


Guarding the Air: Selected Poems of Gunnar Harding (Black Widow Press, 2014)
Meditations on Georges de La Tour, by Paal-Helge Haugen (BookThug, 2013)
Picture World, by Niels Frank (BookThug, 2011)
North in the World: Selected Poems of Rolf Jacobsen (University of Chicago Press, 2002)
Through Naked Branches: Selected Poems of Tarjei Vesaas. (Princeton University Press, 2000)
I Miss You, I Miss You! by Peter Pohl and Kinna Gieth (Farrar Straus & Giroux, 1999)
Did I Know You? by Rolf Jacobsen: 31 poems (Gyldendal Norsk Forlag, 1997)
Wintering with the Light, by Paal-Helge Haugen (Sun & Moon Press, 1997)
A Story about Mr. Silberstein, by Erland Josephson (Northwestern University Press, 1995)
The Time in Malmö on the Earth, by Jacques Werup (Exile Editions, 1989)
Stone Fences,by Paal-Helge Haugen, trans. with William Mishler (University of Missouri Press, 1986)
The Silence Afterwards: Selected Poems of Rolf Jacobsen (Princeton University Press, 1985)

Roger Greenwald
Photo credit: Alf Magne Heskja