Peggy Shumaker

Peggy Shumaker is the author of eight collections of poetry, most recently Cairn (Red Hen Press, 2018), a volume of new and selected poetry and prose. She is also the author of two chapbooks, Greatest Hits (Puddinghouse Press, 2006) and Braided River (Limner Press, 1993), and the memoir in verse, Just Breathe Normally (University of Nebraska Press, 2007). She is the receipient of a poetry fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, and a Distinguished Artist Reward from the Rasmuson Foundation. She is a professor emerita from the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and teaches in the Rainier Writing Workshop MFA at Pacific Lutheran University.



Cairn (Red Hen Press, 2018)
Toucan Nest: Poems of Costa Rica (Red Hen Press, 2013)
Gnawed Bones (Red Hen Press, 2010)
Just Breathe Normally (University of Nebraska Press, 2007)
Greatest Hits (Puddinghouse Press, 2006)
Blaze, with Kesler E. Woodward (Red Hen Press, 2005)
Underground Rivers (Red Hen Press, 2002)
Wings Moist from the Other World (University of Pittsburgh Press, 1994)
Braided River (Limner Press, 1993)
The Circle of Totems (University of Pittsburgh Press, 1988)
Esperanza's Hair (University of Alabama Press, 1985)