Myung Mi Kim

Myung Mi Kim was born in Seoul, Korea and immigrated to the United States at the age of nine. She is the author of six collections of poetry, including Civil Bound (Omnidawn Publishing, 2019), and Under Flag (Kelsey St. Press, 1991), winner of The Multicultural Publisher’s Exchange Award of Merit.

Of her poetry, Fred Moten says, "The largesse is obvious, mysteriously stark, and interminable, endlessly diverse, like what flows before, and then after, a river, hard in its erosions and redactions. Having found a sonic niche of her own, Myung Mi Kim is our species, or gives us as close to a reason as we’ve got."

Kim is the recipient of fellowships and honors from the Fund for Poetry, the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, the Gertrude Stein Awards in Innovative North American Poetry, and the State University of New York Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activity. She is the James H. McNulty Chair of English at the University at Buffalo.


Civil Bound (Omnidawn Publishing, 2019)
Penury (Omnidawn Publishing, 2009)
Commons (University of California, 2002)
DURA (Sun and Moon, 1999)
The Bounty (Chax Press, 1996)
Under Flag (Kelsey Street Press, 1991)