Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Born in 1967, Honorée Fanonne Jeffers received an MFA from the University of Alabama. She is the author of five poetry collections, including The Age of Phillis: Poems (Wesleyan University Press, 2020), which received the NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work for Poetry and was longlisted for the National Book Award for Poetry, and The Gospel of Barbecue (The Kent State University Press, 2000), selected by Lucille Clifton for the Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize. Jeffers has been a resident at the MacDowell Colony and won awards from the Rona Jaffe Foundation for Women Writers and the Barbara Deming Memorial Fund for Women. In 2011, she received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. She won the Harper Lee Award for Alabama's Distinguished Writer of the Year in 2018. She is currently a professor of English at the University of Oklahoma and lives in Norman, Oklahoma.


The Age of Phillis: Poems (Wesleyan University Press, 2020)
The Glory Gets (Wesleyan University Press, 2015)
Red Clay Suite (Southern Illinois University Press, 2007)
Outlandish Blues (Wesleyan University Press, 2003)
The Gospel of Barbecue (The Kent State University Press, 2000)

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers
Photo credit: Sydney A. Foster