Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Daneen Wardrop

Daneen Wardrop is the author of four poetry collections: Silk Road (Etruscan Press, 2018); Life as It (Ashland Poetry Press, 2016), winner of the 2017 Independent Publisher Book Award; Cyclorama (Fordham University Press, 2015); and The Odds of Being (Silverfish Review Press, 2008). She is also the author of several works of literary criticism, including Emily Dickinson and the Labor of Clothing (University Press of New England, 2009). Wardrop’s honors include a 2011 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship and the Poetry Society of America’s 2006 Robert H. Winner Award, judged by Jean Valentine. She is a professor of English at Western Michigan University.

By This Poet



name is a windy thing
quiet down a hall

                            leaks through hinges

does it want to be caught?

I don’t know, tipped fangs, fire-points—
                                        want to be caught?

I think people bundle a name with them from place to place

in a basement, a bottle

of wind

a bottle of turn-it-over

I have so much holler in me