Search more than 3,000 biographies of contemporary and classic poets.

Carol Frost


In 1948, Carol Frost was born in Lowell, Massachusetts. She was raised in the Northeast with an identical twin, and spent a year in her mother's hometown of Vienna, where German became the first language she spoke. As a child, she first discovered poetry in Tennyson's Idylls of the King, soon followed by the work of John Donne, Gerard Manley Hopkins, and Wallace Stevens.

She was educated at Sorbonne in Paris, received a BA in English in 1967 from the State University College at Oneonta, NY, and a master's in Literature and Creative Writing in 1977 from Syracuse University.

Her first collection was the chapbook The Salt Lesson published in 1976 by Graywolf Press, followed shortly by Liar's Dice (Ithaca House, 1978). She is the author of numerous books of poetry including: Entwined: Three Lyric Sequences (Tupelo Press, 2014); Honeycomb: Poems (Triquarterly Books, 2010); The Queen’s Desertion (2006), I Will Say Beauty (2003), and Love and Scorn, New and Selected Poems (2000).

Her awards and honors include two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, four Pushcart Prizes, and a Teacher/Scholar Award and grants from Hartwick College. Frost has taught most recently at SUNY Potsdam, New England College, Bucknell University, and Hartwick College. She is now a professor of English and the Alfond Chair in Creative Writing at Rollins College, in Winter Park, Florida.

Carol Frost

By This Poet


The Part of the Bee's Body Embedded in the Flesh

     The bee-boy, merops apiaster, on sultry thundery days
      filled his bosom between his coarse shirt and his skin
                    with bees—his every meal wild honey.
     He had no apprehension of their stings or didn't mind
and gave himself—his palate, the soft tissues of his throat—
               what Rubens gave to the sun's illumination
               stealing his fingers across a woman's thigh
                  and Van Gogh's brushwork heightened.
                Whatever it means, why not say it hurts—
             the mind's raw, gold coiling whirled against
             air currents, want, beauty? I will say beauty.

Related Poets