The National Book Award Foundation announced the finalists in poetry today. They are former Academy Chancellor Louise Glück for Faithful and Virtuous Night (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Fanny Howe for Second Childhood (Graywolf Press), Maureen N. McLane for This Blue (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), Fred Moten for The Feel Trio (Letter Machine Editions), and Academy Chancellor Claudia Rankine for Citizen: An American Lyric (Graywolf Press).

The National Book Awards are given in the categories of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and young people's literature for books published in the United States between December 1 and November 30 each year. This year a total of 1,425 books were submitted; 219 were submitted in poetry. The winners, who will each receive $10,000, will be announced on Wednesday, November 19, 2014, at the awards ceremony in New York City. 

read more