The Academy of American Poets and Honorary Event Chair Rose Styron host a virtual gala celebrating the National Poetry Month.


Richard Blanco and Terrance Hayes (Masters of Ceremonies)

with honoree

U.S. Poet Laureate Joy Harjo, 2022 Leadership Award Recipient

and readings from:

David Banks, Chancellor of the NYC Department of Education
Ishmael Beah
Rosanne Cash
Willem Dafoe
Claire Danes

Ann Dowd
Jack Gilpin
Gregory Gourdet
Bill T. Jones
Debra Monk
Dr. Saad Omer,
Director of the Yale Institute for Global Health
Shahzia Sikander
Sharon Van Etten

Click here to read the Poetry and the Creative Mind digital program


Proceeds support the Academy of American Poets K–12 Education Program, providing free resources for tens of thousands of teachers each year.


Sponsored in part by W.W. Norton and Co., Abrams Books, Andrews McMeel, Penguin Random House, and Oatly