MPAC and Dodge Poetry Program with Tyehimba Jess

The Geraldine R. Dodge Poetry Program in collaboration with the Mayo Performing Arts Center presents: “I am deliberate and afraid/ of nothing: Poetry & Protest,“ an evening of readings featuring Pultizer Prize-winner Tyehimba Jess and Marina Carreira, J.C. Todd, Vincent Toro and Rashad Wright.

Tyehimba Jess is the author of two books of poetry, Leadbelly and OlioOlio won the 2017 Pulitzer Prize, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, The Midland Society Author’s Award in Poetry, and received an Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association. 

Marina Carreira is the author of Save the Bathwater and I Sing to That Bird Knowing It Won’t Sing Back.

J. C. Todd is author of What Space This Body, and The Damages of Morning, a 2019 Eric Hoffer Award finalist. Beyond Repair is forthcoming in 2020.

Vincent Toro’s Stereo.Island.Mosaic was awarded the Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Award and the Sawtooth Poetry Prize. His second collection, Tertulia, is forthcoming in June 2020.

Rashad Wright is the poet laureate of Jersey City, New Jersey.

This event is part of national Poetry Coalition programming and is supported by the Academy of American Poets with funds from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.