A Celebration of Canadian Poetry

You’re invited to join Poets House, Kelly Writers House, and Talonbooks for a night of Canadian poetry! Featuring celebrated, revolutionary authors and leaders of both the TISH and Kootenay School of Writing movements. Fred Wah, Daphne Marlatt, and Colin Browne will read from their latest works.
Studying at UBC in the early 1960s, FRED WAH was one of the founding editors of the poetry newsletter TISH. Of his seventeen books of poetry, is a door received the BC Book Prize, Waiting For Saskatchewan received the Governor-General’s Award, and So Far was awarded the Stephanson Award for Poetry. His most recent book, Scree, contains 13 previously published – now out of print – books. Wah was appointed to the Order of Canada in 2012. He served as Canada’s Parliamentary Poet Laureate from 2011 to 2013. 
DAPHNE MARLATT was at the centre of the West Coast poetry movement of the 1960s, studying at the University of British Columbia and with many of Donald Allen’s New American Poets. In 2006, Marlatt was appointed to the Order of Canada. In 2009, she was awarded the Dorothy Livesay Prize for Poetry, for her long poem "The Given," and in 2012 she received the George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award.
COLIN BROWNE’s most recent collection of poetry is The Hatch (Talonbooks, 2015). His latest book, a work of non-fiction, is Entering Time: The Fungus Man Platters of Charles Edenshaw, a book-length essay exploring three masterworks by Haida artist Charles Edenshaw, was published by Talonbooks in 2016. Browne was a founder of the Kootenay School of Writing and taught for many years in the School for the Contemporary Arts at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, where he is now Professor Emeritus.