Bay Area Poetry Marathon

At the Bay Area Poetry Marathon, poets from across the U.S. and the Bay Area celebrate innovative poetry in a series of readings throughout the summer.
Co-founded and curated by poet Donna de la Perrière, the Marathon began in Boston in 2001 and has taken place in various gallery and performance venues around San Francisco, including Alley Cat Books, Artists’ Television Access, The Emerald Tablet, The Lab, & The Writer’s Studio at California College of the Arts, since 2004.
Past Marathon readers include Opal Palmer Adisa, Anita Amirrezvani, Rae Armantrout, Dodie Bellamy, Charles Bernstein, Julian Talamantez Brolaski, Lee Ann Brown, Xochiquetzal Candelaria, Maxine Chernoff, Norma Cole, Robert Creeley, Diane DiPrima, Joseph Donahue, Tongo Eisen-Martin, Edward Foster, Tonya Foster, Kathleen Fraser, Forrest Gander, C.S. Giscombe, Jewelle Gomez, Noah Eli Gordon, Robert Hass, Lyn Hejinian, Brenda Hillman, Fanny Howe, Kevin Killian, Joseph Lease, Jane Miller, Laura Mullen, Michael Palmer, Aimee Phan, D.A. Powell, Kathryn L. Pringle, Bin Ramke, Lisa Robertson, Elizabeth Robinson, Leslie Scalapino, David Shapiro, Tom Sleigh, Juliana Spahr, Cole Swensen, Anne Waldman, Arisa White, Tyrone Williams, Ronaldo Wilson, C.D. Wright, John Yau, Al Young, Pamela Z, Matthew Zapruder, and many others.