The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce that four new members have joined its Board of Directors: Frederick Luis Aldama, Sidney Clifton, Tracie D. Hall, and Albert Lee. 

“We’re jazzed that Frederick, Sidney, Tracie, and Albert have joined the Academy’s Board. They are esteemed in their fields, devoted to poetry and the literary arts, and will bring fresh perspectives as we look to the Academy’s ninetieth anniversary in 2024,” said Tess O’Dwyer, Chair of the Board. 

“I’m abundantly grateful to our new Board members for lending their expertise to the Academy of American Poets. From championing Latinx, BIPOC, LGBTQ+, and emerging creators to advocating for the importance of access to stories and poems, with Frederick, Sidney, Tracie, and Albert joining our other devoted Board members, the Academy is well poised to grow its important work in the literary field,” said Jen Benka, Executive Director and President of the Academy of American Poets.

In addition, two Academy Chancellors—Nikky Finney and Carolyn Forché—have been elected as new ex officio members of the Board of Directors. They join Kwame Dawes whose ex officio term has been renewed.

Read the full press release.