We are pleased to announce that Sawako NakayasuMatthew Shenoda, and Danez Smith will judge the 2022 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and that Aracelis Girmay and Solmaz Sharif will judge the 2022 James Laughlin Award

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous calendar year. The winner will receive $25,000, a ten-day residency at Glen Hollow in Naples, New York, and distribution of the winning book to Academy members. To learn more and submit, visit: poets.org/academy-american-poets/prizes/lenore-marshall-poetry-prize.

The James Laughlin Award recognizes and supports a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year. The winner receives a prize of $5,000, an all-expenses-paid weeklong residency at The Betsy Hotel in Miami Beach, Florida, and distribution of the winning book to Academy members. To learn more and submit, visit: poets.org/academy-american-poets/prizes/james-laughlin-award.

Submissions for the 2022 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and 2022 James Laughlin Award will be accepted online from January 1, 2022 to May 15, 2022 (11:59 p.m. ET).