We're thrilled to announce the winners of the 2023 University & College Poetry Prizes. Established in 1955, the Academy sponsors over two hundred annual poetry prizes at colleges and universities across the country. Many of our most esteemed poets won their first recognition through these prizes, including Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Louise Glück, Jorie Graham, Kimiko Hahn, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, Heather McHugh, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, Gjertrud Schnackenberg, and Ocean Vuong.

Read this year's winning poems here