Jan 08 2015

We've Partnered with The Betsy Hotel for the James Laughlin Award

We are excited to announce a new partnership with The Betsy, a hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Beginning in 2015, recipients of the Academy’s James Laughlin Award will receive an all-expenses-paid weeklong residency at The Betsy’s Writer’s Room. The James Laughlin Award is the nation’s only second-book award for poetry that is given annually and open to all poets who are citizens of the United States.

Jan 05 2015

Academy of American Poets to Cosponsor Mark Strand Memorial Event in New York City

The Academy of American Poets is pleased to share that we will be joining with the family of Mark Strand and other literary organizations to honor the late poet at a memorial event on Sunday, January 18, at the American Academy of Arts and Letters auditorium in New York City (entrance on 632 West 156th Street). The event begins at 5 p.m., and it is free and open to the public. Neither tickets nor reservations are required.

Nov 13 2014

Poem-a-Day Reaches 100,000 Subscribers

We are excited to share that a few hours ago the number of subscribers to Poem-a-Day surpassed 100,000! If you don't already receive Poem-a-Day, sign up now and join this growing community of poetry readers.

Through Poem-a-Day, the Academy of American Poets presents original, previously unpublished poems by our country’s most talented poets throughout the week and classic poems on the weekends.

Nov 04 2014

Award-Winning Cartoonist Roz Chast To Design the Official Poster for National Poetry Month 2015

We are excited to share that 2014 National Book Award finalist and award-winning New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast will design the official celebratory poster for National Poetry Month, April 2015. Each year the Academy distributes a poster free-of-charge to over 100,000 schools, libraries, and bookstores nationwide for their April celebrations. Known for her sharp wit and true-to-life storytelling, Chast was selected by renowned graphic designer Chip Kidd on behalf of the Academy of American Poets.