american poets prizes

Since 1934, the Academy of American Poets has awarded more money to poets than any other organization. Guidelines and entry forms are provided, where applicable. 

Academy Fellowship

Since 1946, the Academy of American Poets has regularly awarded Academy Fellowships to American poets for distinguished poetic achievement.

Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award

Established in 2013, the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award recognizes a student poet twenty-three years old or younger, with an annual cash prize of $1,000.

Harold Morton Landon Translation Award

This $1,000 award recognizes a published translation of poetry from any language into English. Founded in 1976, the award was originally biennial. It has been given annually since 1984. A noted translator chooses the winning book.

James Laughlin Award

The James Laughlin Award is given to recognize and support a poet's second book. It is the only second-book award for poetry in the United States. Offered since 1954, the award was endowed in 1995 by a gift to the Academy from the Drue Heinz Trust.

Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

In 1994, the Academy was selected by the New Hope Foundation to administer the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. Established in 1975, this $25,000 award recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year.

Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Awards

Established in 1995, this award recognizes outstanding translations into English of modern Italian poetry through a $10,000 book prize and a $25,000 fellowship, given in alternating years.

University & College Poetry Prizes

In 1955, the Academy of American Poets established its University and College Poetry Prize program at ten schools. The Academy now sponsors over 200 annual prizes for poetry at U.S.

Wallace Stevens Award

The Wallace Stevens Award is given annually to recognize outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry. Established in 1994, the award carries a $100,000 stipend. Recipients are chosen by the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors. No applications are accepted.

Walt Whitman Award

The Walt Whitman Award brings first-book publication and a cash prize of $5,000 to an American who has never before published a book of poetry. The winning manuscript, chosen by an eminent poet, is published by Louisiana State University Press.